Writing Process Blog Tour: My Story

Nze Sylva Ifedigbo has dragged me into an interesting wahala – the Writing Process Blog Tour. Last week Nze allowed us to peer into his amazing world of words: what he has written about, what he intends to write about and what moves him to write. 

blog tour

What am I working on?

I am currently working on a collection of poems. The working title, I said working since titles of books are never definitive until they go to press, is “Blazing Moon”.

This manuscript is a collection that spans from 1996 till date. It is still under works and I hope it is finally published this year. Yes, hopefully because I have been on this project for sometime now. I started working on it after the publication of my the collection of my essays, Dyed Thoughts: A Conversation in and from My Country,  in 2012.

Don’t ask me when I intend to complete it? Or if I’ll get a publisher willing to take the risk to it on? I cannot supply answers because I have not been able to create the time to give it the attention it deserves. I pray I do so soon!

 

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Frankly I think a brutal feedback from the editors of the manuscript or from the reviewers of the published collection will be the most objective answer to this query.

Nonetheless, I have always accepted the fact that every writer writes based on the world view that has shaped his/her perspective. And poetry essentially should evoke imagery that comes from the inner self or from the experiences that have shaped the poet. In my case, I hope to tell my story and thus stand out from other works in this genre.

 

Why do I write what I do?

I write for a multitude of reasons. I was seduced by words and I her slave. I think that forms the core motivating reason for my writings: creative, factual and research. Besides, it is impossible to live in this country and not want to write – Nigeria is beaming with stories waiting to be told. A never ending story.

 

How does my writing process work?

Do I have writing process? I have to check that out…

Basically for my creative writing, it depends on time, energy and when I caught by the writing fever. But for non-creative writing, that comes more naturally. I find it easier to tell stories via essays because this country is full of fiction already. The academic writing is a different process entirely. I suppose that the time limit to turn in a paper for review works the magic!

Essentially, I demand a great deal from myself. I never seem to complete some works even though I have made an outline but the words sometimes are not just there. Or they just refuse to flow.

 

I am passing the Writing Blog Tour torch to the following people:

Sifa Asani Gowon

Sifa Asani Gowon

Sifa Asani Gowon who blogs at SifaSpeaks

Sifa is a mom, baker and writer who thinks she really should read and write more than she does. She spends her time trying to balance ‘life stuff’ and tends to listen to music even as stories spin in her head. She tries to pen them down in a way that pleases her Lord. She lives in the scenic city of Jos with her husband, kids and weird dog.

Kola Tubosun

Kola Tubosun

Kola Tubosun, who blogs at KTravula

Kola describes himself as a poet and linguist, but his work spans a lot of relevant fields of enquiry. His travel blog, KTravula.com, for instance, is a travel blog ostensibly, but its scope and preoccupations have touched on history, teaching, language, politics and policy, and advocacy. He has been published both as a poet and as a short story writer, and as a travel writer in Nigerian and international publications. He is a Fulbright Scholar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

