Harambee

By Nwachukwu Egbunike
 

You ask me what I see

I see green

That stretches and stretches

It embraces the pregnant blue

Held heavy with silver

Not a static one

But this silver hops and hops around

 

I’ll tell you what I see

The plains of that savannah

Where the cheetah cares not

For the king of the jungle

Though the hyena skips the rhinos

And the zebras zigzags the buffaloes

 

You ask me what I see

The plains where roses bloom

Through green houses

Tea and coffee compete

On the heights of Tigoni

 

I’ll tell you what I see

Though the valley been rifted

And flows lazily down

Through contours once chrisom

Now wails with blood

And wounded with fear

 

You ask me what I see

For those languid fools

Who trade god for sale

Take hate as company

And pair grenades as berries

Terror from the belly of ‘Shabaab

 

I’ll tell you what I see

Crumpled but not crushed

Bent but not broken

While not Uhuru

The shield and spear

With Harambee

Stands firm

Unbreakable and unbeatable

 

Ibadan, September 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

