Many thanks to Nze for pulling this out of the archives. Though written in 1964, it remains crispy and apt for 2012. Tai Solarin – like all sages – discern things that mere mortals hardly give a thought to. May our roads be really rough!

Nzesylva's Corner

By Tai Solarin, Jan. 1, 1964

I am not cursing you; I am wishing you what I wish myself every year. I therefore repeat, may you have a hard time this year, may there be plenty of troubles for you this year! If you are not so sure what you should say back, why not just say, ‘Same to you’? I ask for no more.

Our successes are conditioned by the amount of risk we are ready to take. Earlier on today I visited a local farmer about three miles from where I live. He could not have been more than fifty-five, but he said he was already too old to farm vigorously. He still suffered, he said, from the physical energy he displayed as a farmer in his younger days. Around his hut were two pepper bushes. There were kokoyams growing round him. There were snail shells which had…

View original post 893 more words

Leave a Reply

