ELEKO

By Nwachukwu Egbunike

I hear your call
Though i’m no Clark
Yet your waves
Beckons me to your waters.

Let me go forth
To get immensed in your fold
To get caressed
Like a mother tickles her new born child.

I’m no emere
Lest they worry about my attitude
Of hearing you hissing
Far away from my hole.

Eleko Beach, Lagos, Nigeria

Eleko Beach, Lagos, Nigeria

It was like no other
I shouted Igwe
Little before I floated inwards
Only to shout ewo o!

Yet the life jacket
Unlike a full bucket
Drifted to fetch me
Back to were it started.

Yet I hear your waves
Again and again
If I have the chance
I’ll get into you again.

3 Comments

  1. HI THATS AWONDERFUL POEM TO MY ASSESMENT THOUGH I HAVE NOT BEEN THERE WITH THIS MAY BE I WILLL LIKE TO FEEL LIKE TH BABY IN HER MOTHERS ARM BUT ON A LIGHTER NOTE THERE NOT MUCH RHYME WHICH A POET SHUOLD APRECIATE YOU CAN DO BETTER KUDOS GRAET WORK PLS WHATS THE MEANING OF EMERE PLS EDUCATE ME AM CHALLENGED ALSO I CUOLDNT SEE THE PICTURE

    Reply

Leave a Reply

